NaturalReader Review (2026): Features, Pricing & Honest Verdict
Our scorecard
3.4/5Scored against our editorial rubric. How we score →
NaturalReader is two separately priced products, and picking the wrong one is the expensive mistake here. Personal (Lite $79 a year or $13.90 a month, Plus $119 a year or $20.90 a month, Pro $159 a year or $25.90 a month) is for reading your own documents, and its licence bars any public or commercial use of the audio. Commercial (Starter $29 a month or $198 a year, Creator $49 a month or $297 a year, Team $33 per user a month with a two-user minimum) is the one that grants public and commercial rights. EDU group licensing starts at $299 a year for 5 users. Figures read from NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles on September 18, 2026, and worth re-checking before you buy.
AI Tools Police is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we may earn an affiliate commission, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend tools we've researched in depth, and our rankings are never sold.
Pros
- Personal Lite at $79 a year is the cheapest document reader in our AI voice reviews, and NaturalReader's own Help Center lists OCR as included from that tier upward
- Built for reading rather than for producing audio: word-by-word highlighting, a dyslexia font, and a PDF highlight pass you can re-download with your own highlights still in it, which a PhD student singled out in September 2026
- High playback speed holds up for at least some readers, with a graduate student describing working through dry anthropology texts at 2.66x
- Named unprompted as a reading aid across dyslexia, low-vision and graduate-school threads in our evidence pass, including one public servant who calls a workplace screen reader a downgrade from it
- Paying yearly is a real discount rather than a rounding difference: $79 against $166.80 for twelve monthly Lite payments, about 53 percent less
- An AI Text Filter that skips citations, reference numbers, tables and headers before reading, which one commenter names as the reason it copes with academic PDFs
- Two separate users quote NaturalReader's own policy language stating it does not use customer text to train AI and does not sell it to third parties
Cons
- Personal audio, including the top $159 a year Pro plan, is barred from any public or commercial use, including a non-monetized YouTube video; public use needs the separate Commercial product from $29 a month
- The homepage advertises a free forever plan while NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing article states that no free tier exists, and the real no-cost product is a rate-limited web reader with no OCR and no mp3 export
- The no-cost web reader cannot read a scanned or photographed page at all, which is the first wall a student scanning a textbook hits
- Trustpilot shows 1.6 out of 5 across 55 reviews, tied with the discontinued LOVO AI for the lowest score in our AI voice reviews and the lowest of any tool we currently recommend, and a second aggregator independently shows a low score on its own small sample
- Cost per minute of audio cannot be computed from the published pages, because the Commercial plans are sold in credits and what one credit buys is never stated
- Voice cloning is capped at 2 voices on Personal Plus and Pro and 4 on Commercial plans, NaturalReader publishes no sample or quality benchmark for it, and a clone made on a Personal plan carries the same ban on public use as everything else that plan produces
- Sources disagree on which paid tier unlocks OCR and on the Chrome extension's store rating, and neither was resolved for this review
- Dated user reports describe a 20-page file cap, photo scanning moved behind premium, a battery drain after some updates, and a pause at every line break in text copied out of a PDF
- Refund and cancellation terms were not verified for this review, and the yearly plans are charged upfront
How it compares
| Tool | Best for | What the record shows | Starting price (verify live) |
|---|---|---|---|
| NaturalReader | Reading your own documents cheaply, and accessibility use | Cheapest document reader in this category, strongest reading-support features, a public rating tied for the lowest here, and a licence that bars public use of Personal audio | $79 a year (Personal Lite) |
| Speechify | The same reading job with a more polished app | Better voices and app polish, a much higher public rating, and a documented pattern of billing complaints after cancellation | $139 a year (Premium) |
| ElevenLabs | Voice quality and cloning you intend to publish | The quality benchmark in our reviews, with commercial rights from the entry paid tier | $5 a month billed annually (Starter) |
| Murf AI | Produced voiceover for a team | A voice studio rather than a reader, with word-level editing and a separate dubbing product | Verify live on the plan page |
Pricing at a glance
Pricing verified 2026-09-18- Personal Lite: $79 a year, or $13.90 a month
- NaturalReader's cheapest real paid entry point, and the tier where NaturalReader's own Help Center says OCR begins. Twelve monthly payments come to $166.80, so paying yearly costs $87.80 less, about 53 percent, and works out at $6.58 a month. One third-party review instead says OCR requires the Plus tier, a disagreement between an official document and a blog that this review could not resolve, so check it on the plan page before you buy for scanning. Personal tier audio may not be used publicly or commercially at any price.
- No permanent free plan, per NaturalReader's own Help Center: what the no-cost web reader actually gives you
- NaturalReader's homepage advertises a free forever plan with no credit card required; its own Help Center pricing article states flatly that no free tier exists and all subscriptions require payment. The product that really is free is a rate-limited web reader. As quoted from the Help Center by a user in September 2026: unlimited use of Free Voices, 20,000 characters a day on Lite Voices, 4,000 shared characters a day on Plus and Cloned Voices, no mp3 conversion, and no OCR. Treat it as a sample of the reading experience, not as a plan you can live on.
- Personal Plus: $119 a year, or $20.90 a month
- The middle reading tier, and the point where voice cloning appears, at up to 2 cloned voices on Plus and Pro. Twelve monthly payments come to $250.80, so the yearly price saves $131.80, about 53 percent, and works out at $9.92 a month. The same public-use restriction applies here as on Lite and Pro.
- Personal Pro: $159 a year, or $25.90 a month
- The top reading tier, and the one buyers most often assume covers everything, which is the single most expensive misreading in NaturalReader's pricing. It does not grant public or commercial rights to the audio. Twelve monthly payments come to $310.80, so the yearly price saves $151.80, about 49 percent, and works out at $13.25 a month. A user in February 2026 quoted this tier at $169 a year and called the value poor, which is $10 above the figure the Help Center carried in September 2026.
- Commercial Starter: $29 a month, or $198 a year, 500,000 credits, one seat
- NaturalReader's cheapest plan that lets you publish the audio, and a different product line rather than an upgrade. Paying yearly saves $150 against twelve monthly payments of $348, about 43 percent, and works out at $16.50 a month. It covers one user only. At $29 for 500,000 credits the rate is about $0.058 per 1,000 credits, which is the only cost figure the published pages support, because what one credit buys in words or minutes is not stated.
- Commercial Creator: $49 a month, or $297 a year, 2,000,000 credits
- Four times the credits of Starter for 1.7 times the price, which puts the rate at about $0.0245 per 1,000 credits, roughly 58 percent cheaper per credit than Starter. Paying yearly saves $291 against $588 in monthly payments, about 49 percent, and works out at $24.75 a month. Commercial plans allow up to 4 cloned voices. If the monthly credit allowance runs out mid-cycle, the top-up route is pay as you go.
- Commercial Team: $33 per user a month, two-user minimum
- The route for two or more people producing public audio together, at a floor of $66 a month, which is more than a single Creator seat. What is not published on the pages read for this review is how many credits a Team seat carries, so a two-person team cannot compare Team against Creator on output without asking. Get that number in writing before a small studio budgets around it.
- EDU group licensing: from $299 a year for 5 users, up to $3,300 a year at 2,000-plus enrollment
- The licence a school, university department or disability-services office buys, and the reason NaturalReader turns up on so many campus accessibility pages. At the bottom of the curve that is $59.80 per user a year, and at the top it is about $1.65 per student a year, which is far below the Personal price a student would pay alone. Whether an EDU licence carries the same public-use restriction as Personal is not stated on the pages read here, and it is the question to put to sales if students will publish anything they make.
- Price basis and what to verify
- Every figure above was read from NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles on September 18, 2026. Three things are worth checking yourself. Vendors price by region, so a card issued outside the United States can be quoted a different currency and a different number. The OCR tier gate is documented one way officially and another way by a third-party review. And the credit-to-audio conversion, the one number that would make the Commercial plans comparable to any rival, is not published at all.
Plans change often, so confirm current pricing.
If you searched "NaturalReader review", you are almost certainly deciding whether to pay for something that reads your own documents out loud, and the honest answer depends on a fact NaturalReader's pricing page does not put in front of you: it is two separately priced products, and the expensive one is not the expensive one. This review covers NaturalReader at naturalreaders.com, the text-to-speech and document-reading software published by Natural Soft Ltd. It is a product name, not a description of any reader that sounds natural, and it is not connected here to any similarly named domain whose relationship to naturalreaders.com could not be confirmed. Prices below were read from NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles on September 18, 2026, and the user experience comes from 21 dated, individually linked reports rather than from a test we did not run. For where the whole category stands, our AI voice generator rankings map the field.
What is NaturalReader?
NaturalReader is software that turns written text into spoken audio: paste text, open a PDF, load an ebook, or point a browser extension at a web page, and it reads the content back in a synthetic voice while marking the words as it goes. It runs on the web, on Windows and macOS, on iOS and Android, and as a Chrome extension. Its own homepage and its own Commercial pricing page both state support for 90 or more languages, which is the figure used throughout this review; third-party sources variously claim 100 or more, 40 or more, and a specific voice count, none of which is corroborated by anything NaturalReader publishes, so none is repeated here.
The mobile apps and offline listening are where this review's evidence is thinnest, which is worth stating plainly rather than glossing. NaturalReader publishes iOS and Android apps alongside the web reader and the desktop software, and no App Store or Play Store rating appears in any source gathered for this research, so none is quoted here. Two of the 23 dated reports describe the app specifically: one on r/heatedrivalryfanfics in August 2026 calling the free plan's voices on the app robotic, and one on r/AssistiveTechnology in February 2026 describing a battery drain after updates, both quoted in full further down. On offline playback, none of the NaturalReader pages read for this review states whether the paid apps speak without a connection, and no user report settles it either way. What the record does show is that the free web reader cannot export an mp3, so nothing can be carried off it, and that a commenter on r/productivity in September 2026, quoted again later on voice quality, rated NaturalReader level with the app they moved to and named offline listening as the one thing that decided it. If offline is a requirement rather than a preference, treat it as unconfirmed and ask before paying for a year.
Two things separate NaturalReader from the newer names in this category. The first is age. Natural Soft Ltd has been shipping this product since the early 2000s, more than a decade before ElevenLabs was founded in 2022, and the result reads like an accessibility and education tool that later added AI voices rather than an AI product that later added accessibility. Its own education page claims millions of users and thousands of schools. The second is that NaturalReader does not appear to run one in-house voice engine at all: its own Commercial pricing page states that the voices are licensed from Gemini, OpenAI, Azure and ElevenLabs. That is unusual enough to state plainly, and it explains why the top voices can be competitive while the free ones sound a generation behind.
What NaturalReader is not is a voiceover studio. There is a Commercial product line that does produce publishable audio, covered in detail below, but the centre of gravity is a reader: document handling, a dyslexia font, word-by-word marking, speed control, and a filter that strips the parts of an academic PDF you do not want read aloud. Judged as a reader it is strong. Judged as a voice generator it is mid-table, and the review scores it as both.
How much does NaturalReader cost, and why are there two price lists?
NaturalReader Personal costs $79, $119 or $159 a year, and NaturalReader Commercial, the line that carries public and commercial rights, costs $198 or $297 a year, or $29 and $49 a month. EDU group licensing starts at $299 a year for five users. There are two price lists because these are two separate product lines with two entirely different sets of rights, plus an education licence, which is six-plus distinct plans for what looks from the homepage like one app. None of that is hidden, the numbers are published, and NaturalReader's is still the easiest pricing in this category to buy the wrong version of. The per-tier contents sit in the pricing table on this page. What follows is the arithmetic none of the competing reviews does.
| Plan | Pay yearly | Pay monthly | A year of monthly payments | What paying yearly saves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal Lite | $79 | $13.90 | $166.80 | $87.80, about 53% |
| Personal Plus | $119 | $20.90 | $250.80 | $131.80, about 53% |
| Personal Pro | $159 | $25.90 | $310.80 | $151.80, about 49% |
| Commercial Starter | $198 | $29 | $348 | $150, about 43% |
| Commercial Creator | $297 | $49 | $588 | $291, about 49% |
Read down the middle two columns and the structure of the offer becomes obvious. The monthly prices are not a convenience, they are a penalty of 43 to 53 percent, which is steep even by subscription standards, and it means the real decision at signup is annual or nothing. Read across the bottom two rows and a second thing appears: Commercial Starter at $16.50 a month on the annual plan costs more than Personal Pro at $13.25, and Commercial Creator at $24.75 costs nearly twice it. Anyone who intends to publish what they make should price the Commercial line from the start rather than discovering it later. Education buyers get the best rate in the whole structure: EDU group licensing starts at $299 a year for five users, which is $59.80 each, and runs to $3,300 a year at 2,000-plus enrollment, about $1.65 a student.
Can you use NaturalReader Personal audio publicly?
No NaturalReader Personal plan permits public or commercial use of the audio it produces, and that includes the top Pro plan at $159 a year. Not a monetized YouTube video, and not an unmonetized one either, because the restriction is on public use rather than on earning. Publishing requires the separate Commercial product, which starts at $29 a month.
The trap is structural rather than hidden. A buyer who reasons that the most expensive plan must include the most rights will buy Personal Pro, pay $159 up front, and still be outside the licence the moment the audio is uploaded anywhere. It catches a wider group than creators: a teaching assistant producing narrated course material, a nonprofit posting an accessible version of a newsletter, a freelancer sending a client a narrated file. One report in our evidence pass shows what the right side of this line looks like in practice: a commenter on r/TikTokMonetizing said in August 2026 that they produce about five hours of text-to-speech a month for around $20 on the commercial package, which is the plan you want if the audio is going anywhere public.
Is NaturalReader really free forever?
What is really free in NaturalReader is a rate-limited web reader, not a plan. NaturalReader's homepage advertises a free forever plan with no credit card required; NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing article states that no free tier exists and that all subscriptions require payment. Both are the vendor's own words, and the second one is closer to the truth, which is why this review describes the product instead of repeating either claim.
A user on r/Professors quoted the Help Center's own wording in September 2026: unlimited use of Free Voices, 20,000 characters a day of listening on Lite Voices, 4,000 shared characters a day on Plus and Cloned Voices, no conversion to mp3, and no OCR. Those caps are stated in characters, which is not how anybody thinks about reading, so here is the translation at an estimate of six characters per word: 20,000 characters is roughly 3,300 words a day of the better free voices, and 4,000 is roughly 670. A 25-page journal article will consume more than a day's allowance. That estimate is ours, not a NaturalReader figure. For comparison, castreader.com, itself a competing text-to-speech vendor, reports the free limits in minutes instead, at 20 minutes a day of premium voices and 5 minutes a day of AI voices; that is their measurement, not NaturalReader's own, and the two are left side by side rather than merged.
The practical shape of the free plan, then, is that it answers one question well (does listening to my documents actually help me?) and cannot do the two jobs people most often want from it: reading a scanned page, and producing a file you can keep.
What is a NaturalReader credit worth?
NaturalReader does not publish what a credit is worth. Not characters, not words, not seconds of audio: nothing on the pages read for this review converts a credit into a unit you can hear. What is published is the allowance and the price. NaturalReader's Commercial plans are sold in credits: 500,000 a month on Starter at $29, and 2,000,000 on Creator at $49. Divide those out and the rate is about $0.058 per 1,000 credits on Starter against $0.0245 on Creator, so Creator is roughly 58 percent cheaper per credit while costing 1.7 times more. That is a genuine finding for anyone producing at volume, and it is where the arithmetic stops.
Without that conversion, the cost per minute of NaturalReader Commercial audio cannot be calculated at all, which means it cannot be compared against a rival that quotes its allowance in hours. The same blank sits under Team at $33 per user a month with a two-user minimum: no published credit allowance, so a two-person team has no way to tell whether $66 a month buys more or less output than a single $49 Creator seat. Ask before you buy, and get the answer in writing.
How well does NaturalReader read PDFs and documents?
NaturalReader opens a PDF, an ebook, a Word file or a Google Doc and reads it, marking each word as it goes, and that core loop is the part nobody in our evidence pass complains about. Document handling is what NaturalReader is actually for, and it is the area where users volunteer the most detail, positive and negative. Two features go beyond that, and one limit undercuts them.
The first feature is the highlight pass. A PhD student on r/PhD described NaturalReader in September 2026 as expensive, "but it has a really useful highlighting feature where you can then re-download the PDF with all of your highlights", which is a genuine workflow rather than a listed feature: you listen, you mark, you get your annotated file back. The second is the filter that removes the parts of an academic document you do not want spoken. A commenter on r/selfhosted named it in April 2026 as the "AI Text Filter", designed to ignore citations, reference numbers, brackets, tables and headers. The same capability appears in competing coverage under the name Smart Filter, so expect the naming to drift between sources.
The limit is formatting. A user on r/TextToSpeech reported in June 2026 that text copied out of a PDF carried line breaks that made NaturalReader pause at the end of every row, a problem that has to be fixed by cleaning the text by hand before pasting. That is the kind of small friction that decides whether a reading tool gets used daily.
NaturalReader's format support beyond PDF deserves a plainer answer than it usually gets. The documented list covers PDF, Word documents, plain text, ebooks and Google Docs, and the reading behaviour is the same in each case: the file is opened or uploaded, the text is extracted, and the voice reads what was extracted. The extraction step is where the formats diverge. A PDF carries layout, which is exactly why the highlight pass and the citation filter exist, and why the page cap and the line-break problem above are both PDF problems. An ebook or a Google Doc arrives as flowing text, the easy case for any reader, and not one of the 23 dated reports gathered here describes trouble with either format. Read that as an absence of complaints rather than as proof, and note that whether a copy-protected ebook bought from a store opens at all is a separate question this review did not verify.
Can NaturalReader read scanned PDFs and photographed pages?
NaturalReader reads a scanned or photographed page on a paid Personal plan, and the free web reader cannot do it at all. NaturalReader's own Help Center lists OCR as included from Personal Lite at $79 a year upward, while one third-party review says it starts at Plus instead; that disagreement is between an official document and a blog, it was not resolved for this review, and anyone buying specifically to scan should confirm it on the plan page first. OCR, the step that turns an image of a page into text a voice can read, is the single hardest wall in the product for the people most likely to need it.
Two dated user reports describe the shape of it in practice. A poster on r/TextToSpeech said in February 2026 that NaturalReader "has a limit of 20 pages per file and scanning photos was changed to a premium feature", which is both a cap and a change. A student photographing a physical textbook therefore meets two gates on day one: the capability is paid, and the file size is limited. NaturalReader publishes no accuracy figure for OCR on poor scans, and neither does anyone else, so treat clean single-column pages as the reliable case and expect manual cleanup on dense or multi-column layouts.
Does the NaturalReader Chrome extension read web pages?
NaturalReader's Chrome extension reads the page you are on, which is the everyday use that keeps a reading tool installed. Its Chrome Web Store rating is reported at two materially different figures by two different sources found during this research, so no rating for it is quoted here; check the listing yourself, where the current number is one click away.
One reported behaviour is worth knowing before you rely on it for technical or historical material. A commenter on r/SideProject noted in May 2026 that the reader under discussion "struggles with roman numeral I and V, always reading the letter, not the number", judged these "issues with most TTS readers", and added that "NaturalReader did this too". That framing is fair, but it is the sort of thing that turns a chapter heading into gibberish.
Is NaturalReader good for dyslexia and low vision?
NaturalReader is named unprompted as a working reading aid in dyslexia and visual-impairment threads across our evidence pass, in subreddits that have nothing to do with each other, which is a harder signal to arrange than any review score. Accessibility is where NaturalReader's evidence is strongest, and it is the reason the score is not lower.
A user on r/Advice wrote in May 2026 that they use NaturalReader because it has a dyslexia font, and that it assists them "in reading and writing". A public servant on r/OntarioPublicService, in a thread about visual impairments, said in May 2026 that they use NaturalReader in their personal life and that "flipping to the robot voice of Text Aloud has been an absolute downgrade", which is a direct comparison against a workplace-issued tool. A graduate student on r/GradSchoolAdvice said in August 2026 that they "never skipped a page in grad school" using "naturalreaders at 2.66x", including "dry anthropology texts".
Two honest caveats belong beside that. The first is that speed has a ceiling nobody markets: speedreadinglounge.com, the one competing review that genuinely tested playback across 0.5x to 4x, reports the on-screen marking drifting out of sync with the audio above about 2.5x, which is their finding rather than ours and matches the speed the r/GradSchoolAdvice reader settled on. The second is reliability on mobile. A poster on r/AssistiveTechnology described in February 2026 "a detrimental bug that every other update I have to have the app open and screen on to unpause, which is a massive battery sink", which is exactly the kind of defect that matters most to the users who depend on the app most.
How good are NaturalReader's voices?
NaturalReader's paid AI voices are licensed from Gemini, OpenAI, Azure and ElevenLabs rather than built in-house. The free ones are what users actually argue about, and the dated reports in our evidence pass split: some call them robotic, others call them good enough for the job. That split is the honest answer, and it is why voice quality scores 3.3 here rather than higher or lower.
How do NaturalReader's free voices compare with the paid ones?
NaturalReader's free voices are the basic ones, and the paid subscription is what adds the wider voice choice. The dated reports below do not agree on how the free voices sound, and they do not agree that the most expensive tier settles the question either.
A user on r/heatedrivalryfanfics described the free plan in August 2026 as "definitely robotic", while adding a useful observation for anyone who does not want AI in the loop at all: the website "does tout lots of AI features, but these can be avoided easily using their basic settings". A commenter on r/audiobooks put the tier gap more simply in September 2026, saying it is "pretty good", that they use the basic version, and that the "subscription has more choice in voices".
Paying does not guarantee satisfaction at the top either. A long-term paying user on r/AO3 said in March 2026 that they had used NaturalReader for years and that "their most expensive tier is the one that uses LLMs, but in my opinion they are hit and miss as it is". Set against that, two commenters in the same r/productivity thread in September 2026 rated it well in direct comparison with a rival: one said flatly that "Naturalreader is better", while the other said NaturalReader is "just as great" but that getting to listen offline on the competitor "won me over", which is a feature gap rather than a voice one.
How does NaturalReader's voice cloning compare with ElevenLabs and Murf AI?
NaturalReader's voice cloning is capped at 2 cloned voices on Personal Plus and Pro and 4 on Commercial plans. How those clones sound against ElevenLabs or Murf AI is not something this review can tell you, and it is worth being blunt about why: NaturalReader publishes no sample and no quality benchmark for its cloning, no listening comparison with a stated method surfaced in this research, and no test was run here. What can be compared, from documents each company publishes, is what you are allowed to do with a finished clone. On that the three are not close.
Cloning on NaturalReader starts at Personal Plus, $119 a year, and the clone inherits the Personal licence, so the audio still cannot go anywhere public; a publishable clone means the Commercial line from $29 a month. On ElevenLabs, commercial rights start at $6 a month, or $5 billed annually, and Professional Voice Cloning lands around $22 a month. On Murf AI, cloning is not available on the no-cost tier, Creator or Business at all, because Murf lists it as a paid add-on on top of a custom-quoted Enterprise contract. The pattern is consistent across all three: NaturalReader prices cloning inside a reading plan and licenses it for private use, while the two voice generators price cloning as a production feature and sell the publishing rights with it. Neither of those two will read your scanned textbook.
How trustworthy is NaturalReader?
NaturalReader's public reputation is materially worse than its product record: Trustpilot shows 1.6 out of 5 across 55 reviews, while nothing in our evidence pass suggests the software itself is unsafe to install or use. A review that reported only the warm accessibility threads would be leaving out the thing a cautious buyer most needs to see.
Is NaturalReader safe, and why is its Trustpilot score 1.6 out of 5?
NaturalReader is a long-established product from a company that has been trading since the early 2000s, it is recommended on university disability-services pages, and nothing in our evidence pass suggests the software itself is unsafe to install or use. Its public ratings are still the lowest of any tool we currently recommend in this category, matched only by LOVO AI, which stopped trading in 2026.
Trustpilot shows 1.6 out of 5 across 55 reviews, 20 of them in the last twelve months, with the platform's own distribution chart putting 84 percent at one star, read on September 18, 2026. SmartCustomer, a much smaller aggregator, shows its own low score on its own small sample: two separate reads during this research returned 2.1 out of 5 across 26 reviews and 1.4 out of 5 across 27, a divergence we are publishing rather than resolving, because the number moves and a single quoted figure would imply a stability it does not have.
Three things should temper how you read all of that, none of which makes it go away. A 55-review sample cannot describe a user base a vendor counts in millions. Trustpilot's score is a recency-weighted figure with neutral ratings mixed in rather than a plain average, so no share or trend can be derived from the 1.6 itself. And complaint-driven platforms collect complaints by design. What the ratings are genuinely good evidence for is that when NaturalReader goes wrong for someone, it goes wrong in a way that makes them file a review, and the categories those reviews sit in are billing and support.
Does NaturalReader use your text to train AI?
NaturalReader's stated position is that it does not use customer text to train AI and does not sell it to third parties, and this review did not read that policy first-hand, so it is reported as the vendor's position rather than as a verified fact. Privacy is a live, actively checked question for one group in particular: people feeding NaturalReader material they wrote themselves. In one fan-fiction thread, a user reassured others in August 2026 that NaturalReader "explicitly states that they do not use any customer text to train AI and don't sell it to third parties", quoting the vendor's own policy language.
Against that reading sits a quieter signal worth publishing. A poster on r/AssistiveTechnology, in the same February 2026 thread as the battery complaint, said that "their restructuring of the website recently" had left them uncomfortable on exactly this point and named it as the main reason they wanted to switch away. No breach is alleged by anyone, and none was found. The honest summary is that NaturalReader says the right things, one user checked and was reassured, another lost confidence after a site change, and the policy is short enough to read yourself before you upload an unpublished manuscript.
Is there a NaturalReader free trial, and how does billing work?
None of the NaturalReader pricing pages read on September 18, 2026 describes a time-limited free trial of any Personal or Commercial tier, so the rate-limited free web reader is the whole of what you can sample before a card is charged. The yearly plans are then charged upfront, so a Personal Pro signup is $159 out of the account on day one, and the monthly alternative costs 43 to 53 percent more over a year. Friction at signup is real but minor, with a commenter on r/gmod noting in May 2026 that you need an account and that downloading audio takes some doing. Price itself drives real churn: a user on r/HPfanfiction said in July 2026 they had used NaturalReader for a while but that the company "now want to start charging more than $100/year and so I switched", and a poster on r/UCalgary said in February 2026 that "the premium doesn't seem to have much value for the $169/year price tag", a figure $10 above what the Help Center listed in September 2026.
What this review cannot tell you is the refund position. NaturalReader's refund and cancellation terms were not verified here, and no source in this research carries them. That is a gap, it is stated as one, and it matters more than usual on a product sold as an upfront annual charge, so read the terms on the payment page before you subscribe. Separately, the aggregator profiles above are where the billing and support complaints are concentrated, and all three of the major review platforms blocked automated reading during this research, so no individual complaint from them is quoted here. We do not reproduce a user claim we cannot date, attribute and link.
When does NaturalReader's free plan stop being enough?
NaturalReader's no-cost web reader stops being enough at four specific points, and only one of them is the wall the homepage's "free forever" framing prepares you for. In the order most people hit them:
- The scanned page. The free reader cannot do OCR at all, so a photographed textbook page, a printed handout or an image-only PDF is unreadable to it until you are on a paid Personal plan, which NaturalReader's own Help Center puts at Lite, $79 a year.
- Volume. At 20,000 characters a day on Lite Voices, roughly 3,300 words by our estimate, and 4,000 shared characters on the better Plus and Cloned Voices, roughly 670, a single long article can end a day's listening, and a dissertation chapter ends it several times over.
- The file. The free plan does not convert to mp3, so nothing you make can leave the app, which rules out loading a chapter onto a phone for a commute with no signal.
- The licence, which is not a paywall at all and is the one that costs the most. No Personal plan at any price, including Pro at $159 a year, permits public or commercial use of the audio. If what you are producing will be heard by anyone but you, a higher reading tier does not fix that. The separate Commercial product, from $29 a month, is the only thing that does.
Match the plan to the job before you pay, because on this product the ladder does not go where it looks like it goes. Two questions settle it: will you ever point this at a scan, and will anyone but you hear the output? No to both, and the free reader genuinely does the job. Yes to either, and the free plan is a demo of the reading experience rather than a plan you can live on.
What do real NaturalReader users say?
NaturalReader's 23 dated user reports gathered for this review, spanning February 3 to September 8, 2026 across 19 subreddits, converge on four things. The clearest is the free-versus-paid split: four independent reports describe the free plan working but sounding basic, with real caps on characters, pages, export and OCR, and paid tiers as where the good voices and the missing capabilities live. The second is price. Four independent reports spanning February to September 2026 call NaturalReader expensive, and in one case it is the stated reason for cancelling, with the figures those users cite ranging from "more than $100/year" to $169 a year depending on the plan and the month. The third is that document handling is what people actually talk about, positively and negatively: the highlight pass, the citation filter, the page limits. The fourth, and the one that is hardest to manufacture, is that accessibility use recurs across unrelated communities, with dyslexia, low-vision and graduate-school threads all naming NaturalReader unprompted.
Every report quoted on this page is individually dated, attributed to its subreddit and linked to the exact comment. Where several people say the same thing, it is counted as a pattern instead of stacked as quotes, and where a report was too thin or too duplicative to carry a claim it was left out rather than padded in.
One report corroborates NaturalReader's own price list from outside the vendor's pages. A commenter on r/audiobooks writing in August 2026 described NaturalReader as "a web app these days ($79-159/year depending on tier)", which brackets the Personal line exactly as the Help Center lists it. That commenter disclosed building a competing app, which is why the figure is used as corroboration of a published price rather than as an opinion about the product.
One thing we deliberately did not use: our evidence pass surfaced a single account posting near-identical recommendation text about text-to-speech tools across at least 13 unrelated subreddits within the same dataset, with several copies disclosing that the poster builds a competing app. None of that account's comments is quoted above, none is counted in any pattern, and the account is not named here. The observation is published because a reader researching this category will meet the same posts, and describing what was observed is the limit of what anyone can honestly say about them.
Where does NaturalReader's marketing disagree with its own documentation?
NaturalReader's homepage advertises a free forever plan with no credit card required; the Help Center pricing article states that no free tier exists and that all subscriptions require payment. That is the one place NaturalReader's marketing and its own documentation disagree with each other, and the disagreement is the single most useful thing on this page. A searcher who takes the homepage at face value, signs up, and then hits a character cap, a 20-page limit or a locked OCR button is not misunderstanding anything. They are meeting two vendor claims that cannot both be true.
The privacy claim sits at a lower confidence and is reported that way. NaturalReader's stated position, as quoted by two separate users from its own policy pages, is that it does not train on customer text and does not sell it. No user reports a breach of that, and the one uneasy account describes a loss of confidence after a website restructuring rather than an incident. That is a trust tension, not a contradiction, and it is published as one.
What has changed at NaturalReader in 2026?
Three changes show up in the dated record gathered for this review: a scanning feature moved behind a paywall, a site restructuring that cost one user confidence, and a price crossing $100 a year. Every one of them reached us through a user rather than through an announcement. The fourth entry below is a price reading rather than a change, and the September figure verified for this review is the baseline it is built on.
- February 2026: a user reports that OCR photo-scanning has moved behind a premium plan and that free-plan files are capped at 20 pages. The exact change date is not stated by the source.
- February 2026: a user reports that a recent restructuring of NaturalReader's website raised enough AI-training and privacy concern for them to consider switching. No specifics of what changed are given.
- July 2026: a user reports NaturalReader's price crossing $100 a year and cites it as the reason for cancelling.
- August 2026: a third-party comparison, written by a competing app's developer and disclosed as such, states NaturalReader is priced at $79 to $159 a year depending on tier.
- September 18, 2026: NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles list Personal at $79, $119 and $159 a year, Commercial from $29 a month, and EDU group licensing from $299 a year. That is this review's pricing baseline.
How does NaturalReader compare with Speechify, ElevenLabs and Murf AI?
Against Speechify, the tool that does the same job, NaturalReader is the cheaper and the less polished. Against ElevenLabs and Murf AI it is barely a comparison at all, because those two exist to produce audio for an audience while NaturalReader exists to read documents to you. NaturalReader is almost never evaluated alone, and the tools it gets weighed against fall into those two clean groups: readers, which do the same job, and voice generators, which do a different one. The comparison table on this page carries the short version, and what follows is the part a table cannot say.
Should you choose NaturalReader or Speechify?
NaturalReader is the cheaper of the two and Speechify is the more polished: Personal Lite is $79 a year against Speechify Premium at $139. NaturalReader's reading-support features are the ones people describe keeping them: the highlight pass on PDFs, the dyslexia font, the citation filter. Speechify has the better voices, the better app and a vastly better public rating, and, as our Speechify review documents in detail, a real pattern of users being billed after cancelling. Two flawed choices, failing in different places: NaturalReader's weaknesses are quality and licence clarity, Speechify's are cost and checkout.
One correction to anything you may have read on this site before today. Speechify's own page here has described NaturalReader as costing around $99 a year with OCR on its free tier. The verified figure is $79 a year at Lite, and OCR is not on the free plan at all. That cell has been corrected, and the change is listed in our public corrections log.
Is NaturalReader a substitute for ElevenLabs or Murf AI?
NaturalReader is not a substitute for ElevenLabs or Murf AI, and neither of them is a substitute for NaturalReader. This is less a comparison than a fork in the road. ElevenLabs is a voice generator: it exists to produce audio other people will hear, it leads this category on quality and cloning, and it grants commercial rights from its entry paid tier, which is the exact thing NaturalReader withholds from every Personal plan. NaturalReader is a reader: it exists to get a document into your ears, and it has OCR, a dyslexia font and a highlight pass that ElevenLabs has no reason to build. If the audio is for you, the fork goes left and the $79 plan is the cheaper answer. If the audio is for an audience, it goes right, and comparing the two on price alone will send you to the wrong one. Murf AI sits on the same side of that fork, and its numbers make the mismatch obvious. Murf is a voiceover studio: its real entry point is Creator at $19 a month billed annually, $228 for the year, nearly three times Personal Lite, and what that buys is 24 hours of generated voice for the whole year on a single editor seat, with cloning excluded entirely below a custom-quoted Enterprise contract. It has no OCR, no dyslexia font and no reason to build either. Feeding it a 300-page PDF would burn a large share of a year's allowance on the job NaturalReader's reading plans exist to do. Those figures come from our Murf AI review, verified against Murf's own pricing page in July 2026.
And if all you need is an occasional web page read aloud, try what is already on your machine before paying anyone. Microsoft Edge carries a Read Aloud button in its own toolbar that speaks a web page, or a PDF opened in the browser, with no account and no payment, and Windows and Apple's operating systems each ship a built-in spoken-text feature of their own. None of them will read a photographed page, hand you back an annotated PDF or strip citations out of a journal article, which is most of what NaturalReader's $79 plan is actually buying. If none of those jobs is yours, the genuinely free option is the right answer and it does not expire.
Is NaturalReader worth it?
NaturalReader earns 3.4 out of 5. It is the cheapest serious document reader in our AI voice reviews, it is genuinely good at the job it was built for, and the evidence that it helps people read is strong, specific and spread across communities that have no reason to agree with each other. What holds the score down is not the product, it is the commercial structure around it: a free plan the vendor's own documentation contradicts its own homepage about, a licence that quietly excludes the use most buyers assume they are paying for, a credit system whose unit is never defined, and a public rating tied for the lowest in this category. Here is the split by who is asking.
If you have an accessibility need, or you are buying on behalf of someone who does, NaturalReader is worth it and is the strongest value in this category. Budget for a paid Personal plan from the start, because the free reader cannot handle a scanned page and that is the first thing most people try. If you are buying for a school or a department, the EDU licence at $299 a year for five users is by far the best rate in the structure, and the question to ask sales is whether it carries the same public-use restriction as Personal.
If you are a graduate student or an academic reading at volume, NaturalReader is worth it for the PDF workflow specifically: the highlight pass, the citation filter and the speed range are what the people in our evidence pass actually stayed for. Pay yearly, because monthly costs about half as much again, and keep 2.5x as the practical speed ceiling if you need on-screen marking to stay in step.
If you are producing anything the public will hear, do not buy a Personal plan at any price. Price the Commercial line from the start, get the credit-to-output conversion in writing before you commit, and if voice quality is the point of the project rather than a detail of it, compare against the better voice generators first. And whoever you are, read the refund terms before the annual charge lands, because this review could not verify them for you.
How did we review NaturalReader?
NaturalReader was assessed here from the public record, not from a private test. No account was created, no audio was generated, and nothing on this page is a measurement of our own. That distinction carries weight on this particular query, because the deepest page currently ranking for it genuinely did test the product across playback speeds, and two of the three strongest competing reviews are published by companies selling rival text-to-speech products.
The pricing, plan contents, licensing terms and free-plan caps come from NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles and its own published terms, read on September 18, 2026. The user experience comes from 23 individually dated reports gathered for this review through a public archive of Reddit, spanning February 3 to September 8, 2026 across 19 subreddits, of which 21 are quoted or counted above. Where a report's account name is not recorded in our source data, it is attributed to its subreddit, its date and its exact permalink, and no name is guessed. Public ratings come from Trustpilot and SmartCustomer, each cited with its own sample size and read date.
Three gaps are named below, not papered over. G2, Trustpilot and Capterra all blocked automated reading during the evidence pass, so no individual complaint from those platforms is reproduced here, only their published aggregate figures. NaturalReader's refund and cancellation terms were not verified for this review. And the Chrome extension's store rating is reported at two different figures by two different sources, so no rating for it is stated anywhere on this page. Where a fact comes from a competing vendor's blog rather than from NaturalReader or a user, it is labelled as theirs.
Does AI Tools Police earn a commission on NaturalReader?
NaturalReader is a tool AI Tools Police may earn a commission on if a reader signs up through a link here, and that arrangement never changes a score, a figure, or whether a weakness gets surfaced. It matters on this query more than most: of the pages competing for it, one is published by Speaktor, one by CastReader and one by Speechify, all three of which sell text-to-speech products that compete directly with the one being reviewed, and all three close by recommending themselves. We sell no text-to-speech product of any kind.
Frequently asked questions
Is NaturalReader free?
Partly, and less than the homepage suggests. NaturalReader's homepage advertises a free forever plan with no credit card required, while its own Help Center pricing article states that no free tier exists and all subscriptions require payment. What is genuinely free is a rate-limited web reader: unlimited use of the basic Free Voices, 20,000 characters a day on Lite Voices, and 4,000 shared characters a day on Plus and Cloned Voices, with no mp3 export and no OCR. That is roughly 3,300 words a day of the better free voices at a six-character-per-word estimate, so a long journal article will exhaust a day's allowance.
How much does NaturalReader cost in 2026?
There are two price lists. Personal, for reading your own documents, runs $79 a year (Lite), $119 a year (Plus) or $159 a year (Pro), or $13.90, $20.90 and $25.90 a month. Commercial, for audio you intend to publish, runs $29 a month or $198 a year (Starter, 500,000 credits, one seat), $49 a month or $297 a year (Creator, 2,000,000 credits), and $33 per user a month for Team with a two-user minimum. EDU group licensing starts at $299 a year for 5 users. All figures read from NaturalReader's own Help Center pricing articles on September 18, 2026.
Can I use NaturalReader audio in a YouTube video?
Not on a Personal plan, and that includes the top $159 a year Pro plan. NaturalReader's own licence terms bar Personal tier audio from any public or commercial use, and a non-monetized YouTube upload is still public use. Publishing requires the separate Commercial product, which starts at $29 a month for a single seat. This is the easiest expensive mistake to make with NaturalReader, because no amount of spending inside the Personal line buys that right: the $159 a year Pro plan does not grant it, and only the separate Commercial product does.
Is NaturalReader safe and legitimate?
NaturalReader is a long-established product from Natural Soft Ltd, not a fly-by-night app, and it is recommended on university disability-services pages. Its public ratings, though, are the lowest of any tool we currently recommend in this category, level with the discontinued LOVO AI: Trustpilot shows 1.6 out of 5 across 55 reviews, 20 of them in the last twelve months, and a second aggregator, SmartCustomer, shows a separate low score on a sample of about 26 to 27 reviews. Both samples are tiny against a vendor that claims millions of users, and Trustpilot's score is a recency-weighted figure rather than a simple average, so read them as a real warning signal about billing and support, not as a measurement of the whole user base.
Does NaturalReader do OCR on scanned PDFs?
Yes on a paid Personal plan, and no on the free web reader, which cannot read a scanned or image-only page at all. NaturalReader's own Help Center lists OCR as included from Personal Lite at $79 a year upward, while one third-party review says it requires the Plus tier instead; that disagreement was not resolved for this review, so confirm it on the plan page if scanning is your main use. Separate user reports from February 2026 describe a 20-page-per-file limit and photo scanning moved behind a premium plan.
Is NaturalReader better than Speechify?
It is cheaper and less polished. NaturalReader's Personal Lite is $79 a year against Speechify Premium at $139 a year, and NaturalReader's reading-support features, particularly the PDF highlight pass and the dyslexia font, are the reason people stay with it. Speechify has the better voices and the better app, and a far higher public rating, but a documented pattern of being billed after cancelling. If you want the cheapest competent way to listen to your own documents, NaturalReader wins; if voice quality is the point, it does not.
How good is NaturalReader voice cloning?
Nobody can tell you how it sounds from the published record, and this review did not run a listening test, so the honest answer is about scope and rights. NaturalReader publishes no sample and no quality benchmark for its cloning. What is documented: 2 cloned voices on Personal Plus and Pro, 4 on Commercial plans, and a clone made on a Personal plan carries the same ban on public use as every other Personal output. If the cloned voice is meant for an audience, ElevenLabs sells Professional Voice Cloning from about $22 a month with commercial rights included, and Murf AI lists cloning only as a paid add-on on a custom-quoted Enterprise contract, both figures from our own reviews of those tools.
What does a NaturalReader credit buy on the Commercial plans?
NaturalReader does not say, on any page read for this review. Starter carries 500,000 credits a month at $29 and Creator carries 2,000,000 at $49, which prices a credit at about $0.058 per 1,000 on Starter and $0.0245 per 1,000 on Creator, but nothing published converts a credit into words, characters or minutes of audio. That means the true cost per minute of NaturalReader Commercial audio cannot be calculated from its own materials, which is worth knowing before comparing it against a rival that quotes its allowance in hours.
The verdict stands
Ready to try NaturalReader?
AI Tools Police is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we may earn an affiliate commission, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend tools we've researched in depth, and our rankings are never sold.
More tools we’ve reviewed
LOVO AI
LOVO AI is no longer available. LOVO, Inc. filed for Chapter 7 liquidation in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York on May 27, 2026 (case 26-11249), and every page of lovo.ai, the Genny studio included, has returned an HTTP 402 deployment-disabled error on every check since August 2026. This page records what LOVO AI offered and charged while it ran, from archived pages and dated user reports, and names where its users have moved. Our verdict and scores stand as an assessment of the product as it was.
PlayHT
PlayHT permanently shut down on December 31, 2025 after Meta acqui-hired the team in July 2025. The web app, API, and every stored voice clone went offline with no migration path. Before closing it offered 900+ voices across 140+ languages, voice cloning, and sub-300ms real-time TTS. If you need a replacement today, ElevenLabs is the best overall pick, with Murf for teams and Resemble AI for developers.
ElevenLabs
ElevenLabs is still the 2026 voice-quality benchmark: natural text-to-speech, Professional Voice Cloning, dubbing and a conversational-agent API on one platform. Starter unlocks commercial rights at $6/mo ($5/mo billed annually), and Professional Voice Cloning lands on Creator at $22/mo, where the widely quoted $11 is a first-month promotion only. Credit burn and support speed are the real trade-offs. We scored ElevenLabs 4.5 out of 5.
Murf AI
Murf AI is a browser-based voice studio for produced narration: word-level editing, 200+ voices across 30+ languages, and a separately-priced Murf Dub product for translating existing video. Cloning is an Enterprise add-on, Creator and Business are one editor seat each, and the 24-hours-a-year allowance is tighter than it sounds. We scored Murf AI 4.0 out of 5.
Speechify
Speechify is a text-to-speech reader that reads documents, PDFs, and web pages aloud, plus a separate Studio voiceover and voice-cloning product. They are priced apart, and that is the catch. Premium reading runs about $29/mo or $139/year, Studio starts at $19/mo, and Audiobooks is a separate $14.99/mo add-on. The AI voices are strong, but being billed after cancelling is a documented complaint. We scored Speechify 3.7 out of 5.
BetterPic
BetterPic turns uploaded selfies into 10 to 120 professional headshots, at 4K on every tier including a standing $0 one, and it is the only headshot tool we have reviewed that publishes a price for a developer SDK and API, $299 a month. Paid packs are one-time: $1.75 per headshot on Basic, about $0.65 on Pro and Expert. BetterPic publishes no keeper-rate figure, and its refund pays nothing once you download a single image.
Mucahit Kaya
79 tools reviewedFounder & lead reviewer
Tracks the AI creator-tool space daily. Every review here digs into verified pricing, documented features, and what real users report, not a rewrite of the marketing page.
